Poems »

Dr. Elisabeth Kubler Ross (July 8,1926 -August 24, 2004) She was a Swiss American renown author -poet and psychiatrist. A pioneer in near death studies who devoted her life to dying patients and what they were going through. In 1969 the Swiss Born psychiatrist conceptualized "The five stages in facing one's, terminal illness acceptance in her groundbreaking book, On Death and Dying. Where she discussed her theory of the five stages of grief. She is a 2007 inductee into the American National Women's Hall of Fame. In 1970 , she delivered The Ingersoll Lectures on Human Immorality at Harvard University theme: On Death and Dying. Elisabeth was the recipient of twenty honorary degrees and by July 1982 had taught, in her estimation, 125,000 students in death and Dying courses in colleges, seminaries, medical schools, hospitals, and social work institutions. In her own words... " The five stages of grief - denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance are a framework that makes up our living to live with the one(s) we lost. They are tools to help us frame and identify what we may be feeling. But they are not some linear timeline in grief."

FAVORITE (1 fan)

List of poems by Elisabeth Kubler Ross 1 total

Elisabeth Kubler Ross
added 11 months ago
Rate it

Share your thoughts on Elisabeth Kubler Ross's poems with the community:



    Use the citation below to add this poet to your bibliography:


    "Elisabeth Kubler Ross" Poetry.com. STANDS4 LLC, 2022. Web. 18 Jan. 2022. <https://www.poetry.com/poet/Elisabeth+Kubler+Ross>.

    Missing a poem of Elisabeth Kubler Ross?

    Know another great poem from Elisabeth Kubler Ross? Don't keep it to yourself!

    January 2022

    Poetry Contest

    Enter our monthly contest for the chance to win cash prizes and gain recognition for your talent.
    78 entries submitted — 72 remaining

    Browse Poetry.com


    Are you a poetry master?

    Who wrote the poem "Love After Love"?
    • A. Derek Walcott
    • B. Robert Burns
    • C. Rabindranath Tagore
    • D. William Shakespeare